The Transportation Policy Committee (TPC) carries out key policy functions and directs the transportation planning process for the MPO. The TPC is responsible for implementing a continuous, comprehensive, and cooperative transportation planning process (FHWA 3C Process) as well as oversight and decision making authority concerning federal funding allocation in the five county KIPDA Metropolitan Planning Area (MPA). The MPA includes Bullitt, Jefferson and Oldham counties in Kentucky and Clark and Floyd counties in Indiana, as well as 1/10th of a square mile in Harrison County, Indiana and four square miles of Shelby County, Kentucky. The TPC members also review and approve plans, implementation programs, and other similar items. The TPC is a forum for developing consensus on policy actions among the various jurisdictions.

The chief elected official of each unit of local government within the MPA that is represented on the KIPDA Board of Directors is a voting member of the TPC. In addition to elected officials, the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Secretary, the Indiana Department of Transportation Commissioner, the Indiana Department Chief of Transportation Division, the Chair of the Transit Authority of River City Board of Directors, and other officials and agencies as agreed by the TPC are voting members. Non-voting, or advisory members, are added or deleted as agreed by the TPC.

The TPC meets on the fourth Thursday of every month at 12:30 p.m. in the Burke Room at KIPDA, located at 11520 Commonwealth Drive, Louisville, KY 40299. These meetings are open to the public and participation is encouraged.

Past meeting agendas, minutes, and videos may be found here TPC Meeting Information

Voting Members

Bullitt County Judge/ExecutiveThe Honorable Jerry Summers
City of Charlestown, MayorThe Honorable Robert Hall
Clark County, Board of Commissioners PresidentThe Honorable Jack Coffman
Town of Clarksville, Town Council PresidentThe Honorable Paul Fetter
Floyd County, Board of Commissioners PresidentThe Honorable Billy Stewart
Indiana Department of Transportation, Commissioner   Joe McGuinness
Indiana Department of Transportation – Seymour District, Deputy CommissionerTony McClellan
Jefferson County League of Cities RepresentativeThe Honorable J. Byron Chapman- chair 
City of Jeffersontown, MayorThe Honorable Bill Dieruf 
City of Jeffersonville, MayorThe Honorable Mike Moore
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet, SecretaryGregThomas
Louisville Metro, MayorThe Honorable Greg Fischer
City of New Albany, MayorThe Honorable Jeff Gahan
Oldham County, Judge/ExecutiveThe Honorable David Voegele
City of Shively, MayorThe Honorable Beverly Chester-Burton
City of St. Matthews, MayorThe Honorable Richard Tonini
Regional Airport AuthorityDan Mann
Transit Authority of River City, Board ChairCedric Merlin Powell

Advisory Members

Federal Aviation Administration – MemphisTommy Dupree
Federal Highway Administration – IndianaJoyce Newland
Federal Highway Administration – KentuckyEric Rothermel
Federal Transit Administration – Region 4Stan Mitchell
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet – District 5Matt Bullock
Louisville Metro Planning & Design ServicesEmily Liu
Transportation Technical Coordinating Committee ChairJim Urban
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development    Michael Browder