KIPDA REGION REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE BY-LAWS

ARTICLE I NAME AND PURPOSE

The Regional Transportation Council is a sub-committee of the Kentuckiana Regional Planning and Development Agency (KIPDA) Board of Directors that serves four counties that are within the Area Development District (ADD) of the KIPDA Region. The four counties represented are Henry County, Shelby County, Spencer County, and Trimble County. The Regional Transportation Council will work together to establish a safe, reliable, and efficient transportation system to meet the needs of the four counties of the KIPDA Region.

ARTICLE II

MEMBERSHIP

1. The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) voting membership is comprised of the following categories: elected officials, law enforcement, highway/public works agencies, fire department representative, school transportation officials, human service delivery agencies, freight representative, underserved population/minority populations, planning and zoning commissions, bicycle and pedestrian coordinators, economic development organizations, industrial authorities and public citizens. The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet officials and the Federal Highway Administration officials serve as advisory members for the Regional Transportation Council.

2. Members may be added to or removed from the RTC by a two-thirds majority vote of voting members present, provided a quorum is present.

3. Attachment A presents the current membership of the Regional Transportation Council.

ARTICLE III OFFICERS

1. The officers of the RTC shall be a Chairperson and a Vice Chairperson. These officers shall perform the duties prescribed by these bylaws.

2. The Regional Transportation Council shall elect from its voting membership a Chairperson and Vice Chairperson at its first regular meeting every two years. The Chairperson shall preside at all meetings of the Regional Transportation Council; the Vice Chairperson shall act in the absence of the Chairperson.

3. No member shall hold more than one (1) office at a time.

ARTICLE IV MEETINGS

1. The Regional Transportation Council will meet three to six times per year. The meeting will typically be held one hour before the KIPDA Board Meeting, on the fourth Thursday of the month, and at the same location.

2. Notice of all regular meetings shall be transmitted to each member of record at least seven (7) days prior to the meeting. The upcoming Regional Transportation Council meetings will be posted on the KIPDA website and circulated in the monthly KIPDA Calendar of Events.

3. Special meetings can be called by the Chairperson or by request of KIPDA staff. The purpose of the meeting shall be stated in the call. The established mailing list for the RTC shall be used to notify members of the special meeting. Except in cases of emergency, at least three (3) working days notice shall be given. Attendance at a meeting shall constitute waiver of notice.

4. The presence of three (3) voting members of the Regional Transportation Council shall constitute a quorum. A simple majority vote of voting members present (provided a quorum is present) shall be required for the passage of any action unless stated otherwise within these bylaws.

5. A representative from KIPDA staff shall be responsible that an accurate record be kept of the minutes of each Regional Transportation Council meeting.

6. An alternate for a committee member must present to the Chairperson, or have on file with the KIPDA Regional Transportation Planner, written notice of their authority to represent the jurisdiction or agency in question. The notice must be from the specific member listed in Attachment A.

ARTICLE V SUBCOMMITTEES

1. The RTC shall, from time to time, create such subcommittees as are necessary to carry on the work of the committee. All subcommittee members shall be appointed by the Chairperson.

2. The Chairperson shall be an advisory member of all subcommittees.

3. The RTC shall dissolve the subcommittee when its work is completed.

ARTICLE VI AMENDMENT OF BYLAWS

These bylaws can be amended at any regular meeting of the RTC by a two-thirds vote of voting members present (provided a quorum is present) provided that the amendment has been submitted in writing to all RTC members with the notification of the meeting. Amendments will become effective upon review and approval by the KIPDA Board of Directors.

ATTACHMENT A CURRENT MEMBERSHIP

MEMBER

Honorable Scott Bates, Judge Executive
Honorable Dan Ison, Judge Executive
Honorable Scott Travis, Judge Executive
Honorable Jim Travis, Magistrate
Honorable John Ogburn, Judge Executive
Honorable Joe Robinson, Mayor
Honorable Troy Ethington, Mayor
Mr. Lawrence Blackaby, Road Supervisor
Mr. Ryan Libke, Planning Commission Executive Director
Mr. Jon Park, Deputy Judge
Mr. Jack Couch, Citizen

ADVISORY MEMBERS Tom Hall Larry Chaney Tonya Higdon REPRESENTING Henry County Shelby County Spencer County Spencer County Trimble County City of Bedford City of Shelbyville Shelby County Shelby County Shelby County Trimble County REPRESENTING

REPRESENTING KYTC D5 KYTC D5 FHWA KY