# **KIPDA Area Development District**



FY 2010 KYTC Annual Work Program Work Element 4-RTC Bylaws





# KENTUCKIANA REGIONAL PLANNING AND DEVELOPMENT AGENCY REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION COUNCIL BYLAWS

#### **ARTICLE I**

# NAME AND PURPOSE

The Regional Transportation Council is a sub-committee of the Kentuckiana Regional Planning and Development Agency (KIPDA) Board of Directors that serves four counties that are within the Area Development District (ADD) of the KIPDA Region. The four counties represented are Henry County, Shelby County, Spencer County, and Trimble County. The Regional Transportation Council will work together to establish a safe, reliable, and efficient transportation system to meet the needs of the four counties of the KIPDA Region.

#### **ARTICLE II**

# MEMBERSHIP

- 1. The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) voting membership is comprised of the following categories: elected officials, law enforcement, highway/public works agencies, fire department representative, school transportation officials, human service delivery agencies, freight representative, underserved population/minority populations, planning and zoning commissions, bicycle and pedestrian coordinators, economic development organizations, industrial authorities and public citizens. The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet officials and the Federal Highway Administration officials serve as advisory members for the Regional Transportation Council.
- Members may be added to or removed from the RTC by a two-thirds majority vote of voting members present, provided a quorum is present.
- 3. Attachment A presents the current membership of the Regional Transportation Council.

# **ARTICLE III**

# **OFFICERS**

 The officers of the RTC shall be a Chairperson and a Vice Chairperson. These officers shall perform the duties prescribed by these bylaws and those outlined in the current edition of <u>Robert's</u> Rules of Order.

- 2. The Regional Transportation Council shall elect from its voting membership a Chairperson and Vice Chairperson at its first regular meeting every two years. The Chairperson shall preside at all meetings of the Regional Transportation Council; the Vice Chairperson shall act in the absence of the Chairperson.
- 3. No member shall hold more than one (1) office at a time.

# **ARTICLE IV**

# **MEETINGS**

- The Regional Transportation Council will meet bi monthly one hour before the KIPDA Board Meeting at the same location as the KIPDA Board Meeting is held. The standing meeting date shall be on the fourth Thursday of every other month. The meetings will be held in the months of January, March, May, July, September, and November. Additional meetings may be held according to needs.
- 2. Notice of all regular meetings shall be transmitted to each member of record at least seven (7) days prior to the meeting. The upcoming Regional Transportation Council meetings will be posted on the KIPDA website and circulated in the monthly KIPDA Calendar of Events.
- 3. Special meetings can be called by the Chairperson or by request of KIPDA staff. The purpose of the meeting shall be stated in the call. The established mailing list for the RTC shall be used to notify members of the special meeting. Except in cases of emergency, at least three (3) working days notice shall be given. Attendance at a meeting shall constitute waiver of notice.
- 4. The presence of four (4) voting members of the Regional Transportation Council shall constitute a quorum. A simple majority vote of voting members present (provided a quorum is present) shall be required for the passage of any action unless stated otherwise within these bylaws.
- A representative from KIPDA staff shall be responsible that an accurate record be kept of the minutes of each Regional Transportation Council meeting.
- 6. An alternate for a committee member must present to the Chairperson, or have on file with the KIPDA Regional Transportation Planner, written notice of their authority to represent the jurisdiction or agency in question. The notice must be from the specific member listed in Attachment A.

# ARTICLE V

## **SUBCOMMITTEES**

- 1. The RTC shall, from time to time, create such subcommittees as are necessary to carry on the work of the committee. All subcommittee members shall be appointed by the Chairperson.
- 2. The Chairperson shall be an advisory member of all subcommittees.
- 3. The RTC shall dissolve the subcommittee when its work is completed.

# ARTICLE VI

# PARLIAMENTARY AUTHORITY

The rules contained in the current edition of <u>Robert's Rules of Order</u> shall govern the RTC in all cases to which they are applicable and in which they are not inconsistent with these bylaws and any special rules of order the RTC may adopt.

# **ARTICLE VII**

## AMENDMENT OF BYLAWS

These bylaws can be amended at any regular meeting of the RTC by a two-thirds vote of voting members present (provided a quorum is present) provided that the amendment has been submitted in writing to all RTC members with the notification of the meeting. Amendments will become effective upon review and approval by the KIPDA Board of Directors.

# ATTACHMENT A MEMBERS OF THE REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION COUNCIL COMMITTEE

# **VOTING MEMBERS**

- 1. Elected Official
- 2. Law enforcement representatives
- 3. Highway/Public work representatives
- 4. Emergency Medical Service representatives
- 5. Fire Department representatives
- 6. School Transportation Officials
- 7. Human Service Delivery representatives
- 8. Freight representative
- 9. Low Income and minority representatives
- 10. Planning and Zoning Commissions
- 11. Bike/Pedestrian Coordinators
- 12. Industrial Authority Development
- 13. Public Citizens
- 14. Chamber of Commerce

## **ADVISORY MEMBERS**

- 1. Kentucky Transportation Cabinet District 5 officials
- 2. Federal Highway Administration

Judge Randy Stevens made a motion to approve the RTC Bylaws. Judge John Logan Brent seconded the motion and it carried with a unanimous voice vote.